Personal Injury Lawyers

Is it difficult to calculate the damages of your pain and suffering? Was there a severe disruption to your life or extreme property loss? A personal injury attorney can be helpful in answering these questions.

Personal Injury Lawyers Personal Injury Lawyers

Georgia Personal Injury

Georgia Personal Injury Laws

In This Section:

Damage caps, statutes of limitations, and Georgia rules when suing are important to know in injury case. The information provided below is a guideline to follow but not pertain to your specific case. Please contact us if you need a FREE case evaluation for your Georgia injury case and claim.

back to top

Georgia Statute of Limitations

(How long can I file my Georgia claim?)
Just like most states, you have up to 2 years to file a product liability claim and a general personal injury claim in Georgia. Medical malpractice and negligence claims are a bit different; for malpractice claims you have 2 years also, but: if you discovered the injury in that 2 year time period you have a bit longer. Sometimes this type of extension can be up to 5 years. Speak to a Georgia personal injury attorney regarding your specific case and its statute of limitations.

back to top

Car Accident?
Georgia is a Fault State

Georgia Fault state rules apply specifically to car accident cases. In Georgia you can sue the other party that caused the injuries following the guidelines of the 50% (50 percent) rule.

Georgia is a 50% Rule State

The 50% rule is a modified version of the comparative negligence rule. This means that in Georgia you can sue and try to collect if you are less than 50% at fault. If it is found you are responsible for 50% or more of the accident, you cannot sue. Of course, proving less than 50% fault can be aided with an experienced Georgia attorney strengthening your case. After proving fault with comparative negligence, you can be awarded a settlement of the other parties fault percentage.

back to top

Are there Damage Caps in Georgia Injury Law?

(How much could I possibly I get?)
Georgia damage caps refer to injuries sustained from hospital or doctor negligence and malpractice. In Georgia, a personal injury cap of $250k exists for punitive damages. Contact one of our Georgia lawyers for more information on other types of damages like economical losses or non-economical losses.


Law Offices of Shane Smith

Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Peachtree City, GA area.

263 Highway 74 North, Suite 200
Peachtree City, GA 30269

Get Help From a Georgia Personal Injury Attorney Today
Complete the quick form below and a Georgia injury lawyer will contact you to discuss your case for FREE








Protect Your Rights!

Get Advice from a Local Personal Injury Lawyer



Start
Now

John Swanson

RECENT INTERVIEW ON:

"Referrals and Car Accident Law"

Read Here

Thomas Stagemeir

RECENT INTERVIEW ON:

"Car Accidents in New York State"

Read Here








 LeadRival LP BBB Business Review


Online Marketing for Lawyers