Wyoming Personal Injury Laws
Wyoming personal injury laws vary from other state’s laws. Below are the most common personal injury laws in the state of Wyoming. Understanding your compensation rights and getting the help of a Wyoming attorney is your first step towards filing a successful Wyoming personal injury claim.back to top
Wyoming Statute of Limitations
(How long do I have to file injury claims in Wyoming?)
The Wyoming statute of limitations for filing personal injury claims is 4 years. Wyoming's medical malpractice statute of limitations is 2 years from the date of the action or within 2 years from the date the injury should have been discovered. Product liability claims in Wyoming must be filed within 4 years. The statute of limitations for Wyoming injury claims are subject to change. Contact a Wyoming injury attorney for definitive statutes at the time of your accident or injury.
Car Accidents in Wyoming, Wyoming = Fault State
Wyoming utilizes a fault based system to determine compensation after a car accident. Under fault state rules insurance companies will determine which party is at fault and pay according to the driver’s degree of fault. If you have been injured due to the negligence of another driver you will receive compensation from their insurance company. If payment for your costs or losses is insufficient you may have the legal right to file a Wyoming car accident claim against the at fault driver to recover compensation for medical costs, lost wages and pain and suffering.
Wyoming is a Modified Comparative Fault
-- 51 Percent Bar State
Wyoming is one of twenty-one (21) states which follow the 51 percent bar rule. Under this system the injured party may only recover compensation for their injuries or losses if they are less than 51% at fault for the damages. Compensation is allocated according to each claimant’s degree of guilt.back to top
Are there Damage Caps in Wyoming Injury Law?
(How much compensation can I get?)
The Wyoming constitution specifically prohibits limits on noneconomic damages. Workers compensation laws in Wyoming provide full medical benefits with no monetary or time limitations. Workers compensation pays temporary total disability (TTD) and permanent total disability (PTD) payments as a percentage of the worker’s wage. Additional benefits may be available for worker’s children. Workers compensation benefits in Wyoming are offset by SSDI benefits. Talk to an injury lawyer for more information about compensation limits after a personal injury case.
Experienced Attorneys who take cases in the area
Injury Law Group
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Lakewood, CO area.
605 Parfet St., Suite 102
Lakewood, CO 80215
Get Help From a Wyoming Personal Injury Attorney Today
Complete the quick form and a Wyoming injury lawyer will contact you to discuss your case for FREE