Car Accidents Can Result In Personal Injury In Virginia
Virginia drivers across the state in cities like Arlington, Alexandria, Chesapeake, Hampton, Richmond and Virginia Beach are injured in car accidents everyday. Car accident injuries can range from minor to serious and cause devastating common car accident injuries such as:
- Neck and back injuries
If you have been injured in a car accident, if you have not been able to get the insurance company to give you a fair car accident injury compensation award or if your car accident injuries have been caused by the negligence of another driver, a Virginia car accident lawyer can help. Car accident lawyers have experience negotiating with large insurance companies. They can help gather medical evidence, reconstruct the accident, make sure you get medical care and take your car accident law suit to court if necessary.
Can I file a car accident law suit in Virginia
Virginia is a tort state, and drivers who are injured in a car accident caused by another negligent driver can file a car accident law suit. To win a car accident law suit the Virginia driver must prove the other driver was negligent. Negligence is proven by showing the at-fault driver had a duty of care to drive responsibility but through their actions breached this duty of care. Negligent driving can include: speeding, running a red light, driving erratically or driving the wrong direction. If negligence is proven, the plaintiff must also prove their negligence caused the car accident, and the car accident caused them loss or injury. If the plaintiff wins their car accident law suit they may be awarded the following types of car accident injury compensation:
- Pain medical care
- Property damage replacement
- Pain and suffering
- Lost wage compensation including future wages
- Punitive damages may be paid in some cases where the judge or jury determines there has been extreme negligence.
Virginia follows a pure comparative negligence system and assigns fault to each driver and awards compensation or damages according to the fault of each party. An injured person, even if they are 90% at fault for the car accident, may still recover damages. Virginias statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit is two years from the date of injury (some exceptions may apply). t is important to contact a Virginia car accident lawyer as soon as possible.
Do I need Virginia car accident lawyer?
If your car accident insurance settlement amount is in dispute, your car accident injuries were caused by another driver or if you need help understanding Virginias car accident insurance laws, a Virginia car accident attorney can help. Car insurance companies save money by limiting the amount of car accident injury compensation they award to drivers. You do not have to struggle or fight for your benefits by yourself; a car accident lawyer can help.
Car accident insurance minimums in Virginia
Virginia drivers must purchase car accident insurance to drive a motorized vehicle in the state of Virginia. The minimums are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage for the death or injury of one person
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage for death of two or more persons
- Property damage $20,000
Virginia car accident insurance does not require Virginia drivers to purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP), but PIP coverage can be purchased for additional protection. If you are injured in a car accident, regardless of fault, PIP or no-fault car insurance pays benefits for medical care. Purchasing PIP coverage does not restrict the Virginia drivers right to file a car accident law suit for pain and suffering.
Steps after a car accident in Virginia
The most important thing to do after a car accident in Virginia is to stay calm and never panic. Fleeing the scene of a car accident is considered a hit and run. Next do the following:
- Check on all of the drivers and get them medical care if needed.
- Do not take fault for the car accident or make statements to anyone but the Virginia police.
- Take pictures if possible.
- Cooperate with the Virginia police and make sure to get the badge numbers and names of the policeman at the scene.
- Talk to the insurance company and make sure you understand your car accident insurance policy information.
- Do not make any written or recorded statements to the insurance company.
- Go to the doctor and make sure your common car accident injuries are documented.
- Talk to a Virginia car accident lawyer.