Alaska Personal Injury Law
Alaska personal injury law can vary from other state’s injury laws. Refer below for more information about Alaskan personal injury laws and talk to an Alaska personal injury lawyer if you have questions about your injury or you are interested in filing a personal injury case.back to top
Alaska Statute of Limitations
(Whats the time limit for filing Alaska claims?)
All personal injury claims must be filed within a specified time period. The Alaska statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is 2 years. Medical malpractice claims must be filed within 2 years, and product liability claims must be filed within 2 years. Under Alaska law, a minor injured by medical malpractice must file suit within two years plus one day of his or her eighteenth birthday, or within two years plus one day of the date of the minor's marriage.
Alaskan statute of limitation laws may be updated by the state legislature and are subject to change. Contact an Alaskan injury lawyer for more information about the current limitations in your state.back to top
Car Accident in Alaska?
Alaska = Fault State
The "fault state" accident rule is specifically for vehicle accident cases in Alaska. After an auto accident the insurance company/adjuster will determine who is at fault for the accident and require that driver’s insurance company to pay for damages.
Alaska is a Pure Comparative State
Alaska’s comparative negligence law allows a party to sue another, regardless of the percentage of responsibility. If both parties contributed to the accident than comparative negligence determines the percentage of fault and the amount paid to each party for damages. Talk to an Alaska lawyer for more information about the details of comparative negligence laws.back to top
Are there Damage Caps in Alaska Injury Law?
(How much compensation can I get?)
Alaska’s Medical Liability Reform/Noneconomic Damages Reform act S.B. 67 (2005) lowered the limit on noneconomic damages in medical liability cases to $250,000. Severe cases of permanent disability or wrongful death limit noneconomic damages to $400,000.
Workers compensation payments are calculated based on the injured workers weekly wage they earned prior to their injury. The payment will be 80 percent of the normal weekly wage paid twice a month. If you have noneconomic damages such as pain and suffering, speak to an Alaska personal injury lawyer for more information on thresholds for payments.
Pintas & Mullins
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Chicago, IL area.
368 West Huron Street, Suite 100
Chicago, IL 60654
Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano - Nationwide
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Philadelphia, PA area.
2005 Market Street, 18th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Get Help From an Alaska Personal Injury Attorney Today
Complete the quick form and an Alaska injury lawyer will contact you to discuss your case for FREE