Connecticut Personal Injury Laws
Connecticut personal injury law varies from other state’s laws. Below are the most common personal injury laws in the state of Connecticut. Understanding your compensation rights and getting the help of a Connecticut injury attorney is your first step towards filing a successful Connecticut personal injury claim.back to top
Connecticut Statute of Limitations
(How long do I have to file an injury claim in Connecticut?)
The Connecticut statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is 2 years. Connecticut’s medical malpractice statute of limitations is 2 years from the date the injury was discovered or 3 years from the date of the action which resulted in the injury. Product liability claims must be filed 2 years from the date of injury or discovery (up to a maximum of 3 years). These statutes for Connecticut claims are subject to change, contact a Connecticut injury attorney for definitive statutes at the time of your accident or injury.
Car Accident in Connecticut?
Connecticut is a Fault State
Connecticut uses a fault-based insurance system to determine who will pay for damages in a car accident. Injured drivers who are not at fault can receive compensation for their car accident injuries by filing a claim with the at-fault driver, with their own insurance company (who receives reimbursement from the at-fault driver’s insurance) or file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver.
Connecticut is a Modified Comparative Fault – 51% bar
What does this mean? Connecticut’s 51% bar rule does not allow an injured party to recover damages if he is 51% or more at fault for the accident or injury. Recovered damages are also reduced by degree of guilt. If you have been injured in a personal injury case, talk to a Connecticut injury lawyer for more information about your compensation eligibility.back to top
What about Damage Caps in Connecticut Injury Law?
(How much money or compensation can I expect?)
There are no caps for personal injury damages in Connecticut. There are no serious injury thresholds in the state of Connecticut. Workers Compensation for Connecticut workers has a cap for injuries/illnesses occurring on or after October 1, 1991. According to current workers compensation laws Connecticut’s PPD awards may not exceed 100% of the State Average Production Wage, and weekly temporary partial benefits may not exceed 100% of the State Average Production Wage.
Pinpoint Legal Marketing
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Carlsbad, CA area.
2173 Salk Avenue, Suite 250
Carlsbad, CA 92008
Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano - Nationwide
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Philadelphia, PA area.
2005 Market Street, 18th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Get Help From a Connecticut Personal Injury Attorney Today
Complete the quick form and a Connecticut injury lawyer will contact you to discuss your case for FREE