New Hampshire Personal Injury Laws
New Hampshire personal injury laws vary from other state's laws. Below are the most common personal injury laws in the state of New Hampshire. Understanding your compensation rights and getting the help of an attorney is your first step towards filing a successful New Hampshire personal injury claim.back to top
New Hampshire Statute of Limitations
(How long do I have to file claims in New Hampshire?)
The New Hampshire statute of limitations for filing personal injury claims is 3 years. New Hampshire's medical malpractice statute of limitations is 2 years from the date of the action which caused the injury (exemptions exist for foreign objects in the body). Product liability claims in New Hampshire must be filed 3 years from the date of injury or within 3 years from the date of reasonable discovery. All product liability cases must be started within 12 years from the manufacturing of the product. These statutes for New Hampshire claims are subject to change, contact a New Hampshire injury attorney for definitive statutes at the time of your accident or injury.
Car Accident in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire = Fault State
New Hampshire is a fault-based state. Fault based systems allow the insurance companies to pay damages according to each driver's degree of guilt. To recover compensation you may receive compensation from your insurance company (who will receive payment from the guilty driver's insurance company), the other driver's insurance company or file a lawsuit to seek compensation for damages of lost wages, medical expenses and property damage.
New Hampshire is a Modified Comparative Fault
-- 51 Percent Bar State
New Hampshire is a modified comparative fault 51% bar state which means you may collect compensation in an injury claim as long as you are 50% or less at fault. If you are more than 50% at fault you cannot bring a claim in New Hampshire. New Hampshire injury attorneys can answer additional questions about modified comparative fault laws.back to top
Are there Damage Caps in New Hampshire Injury Law?
(How much compensation can I get in a NH injury case?)
New Hampshire does not limit noneconomic damages. Both actions to limit recovery for both medical liability and personal injury have been overturned after the courts argued they violated the State's Constitution.
Pintas & Mullins
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Chicago, IL area.
368 West Huron Street, Suite 100
Chicago, IL 60654
Pond Lehocky Stern Giordano - Nationwide
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in the Philadelphia, PA area.
2005 Market Street, 18th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Get Help From a New Hampshire Personal Injury Attorney Today
Complete the quick form and a New Hampshire injury lawyer will contact you to discuss your case for FREE