Oklahoma Personal Injury Laws
Oklahoma personal injury laws vary from other state's laws. Talk to a personal injury lawyer for more information about the specifics of your case. Understanding your compensation rights and getting the help of an Oklahoma attorney is your first step towards filing a successful Oklahoma personal injury claim.back to top
Oklahoma Statute of Limitations
(How long do I have to file injury claims in Oklahoma?)
The Oklahoma statute of limitations for filing personal injury claims is 2 years. Oklahoma's medical malpractice statute of limitations is 2 years. Product liability claims in Oklahoma must be filed within 2 years. These statutes for Oklahoma claims are subject to change, contact an Oklahoma injury attorney for definitive statutes at the time of your accident or injury.
Oklahoma Car Accident Rules
Oklahoma = Fault State
Oklahoma is a fault state. Under this system the insurance company will determine who is at fault and the guilty party's insurance company will be responsible for paying damages including medical expenses and lost wages. If compensation for your claim is not sufficient you may be able to file a car accident lawsuit against the at fault driver.
Oklahoma is a Modified Comparative Fault -- 50 Percent Bar State
Oklahoma is one of 12 states which follows the 50 percent bar rule. Under this compensation system an injured party may only receive compensation if they are less than 50% at fault. If the injured party is 50 percent or more at fault he cannot receive compensation. Compensation is also reduced by each party's degree of fault.
Damage Caps in Oklahoma Injury Law
(How much compensation can you get?)
Due to recent changes in Oklahoma personal injury law it is important to talk to an Oklahoma lawyer. A new law, however, has been passed which caps compensation for noneconomic damages for bodily injury at $400,000. Exceptions exist for "permanent or substantial physical abnormality, disfigurement, loss of use of limb or substantial impairment to a major body organ or system or if the Defendants acts were done with reckless disregard, grossly negligent, fraudulent or intentional and with malice."
Get Help From a Oklahoma Personal Injury Attorney Today
Complete the quick form and a Oklahoma injury lawyer will contact you to discuss your case for FREE