Utah Personal Injury Laws
Utah personal injury laws vary from other state's laws. Below are the most common personal injury laws in the state of Utah. Understanding your compensation rights and getting the help of an attorney is your first step towards filing a successful Utah personal injury claim.back to top
Utah Statute of Limitations
(How long do I have to file claims in Utah?)
The Utah statute of limitations for filing personal injury claims is 4 years (exceptions exist). Utah's medical malpractice statute of limitations is 2 years from the injurious action or 2 years from the date of reasonable discovery. Cases for foreign objects must be filed within 1 year from the date of action or the date of discovery (up to a maximum of 4 years from the date of the action). Product liability claims must e filed 2 years from the date of injury or from the reasonable date of discovery. These statutes for Utah claims are subject to change. Contact a Utah injury attorney for definitive statutes at the time of your accident or injury.back to top
Car Accident Laws in Utah
Utah = No-Fault State
Utah is a no-fault state. Insurance companies do not determine guilt but pay compensation to each driver for medical costs and lost wages. No fault states limit the ability of drivers to sue another driver after a car accident except under pre-determined conditions. In the state of Utah a driver may sue if their medical expenses exceed a dollar threshold.
Utah is a Modified Comparative Fault -- 50 Percent Bar State
Utah is one of 12 states that uses the 50 percent bar rule. Under this system the injured party may not recover compensation for their injuries or loss if they are 50 percent or more at fault. Compensation payments are also allocated according to the degree of fault of each claimant.back to top
Are there Damage Caps in Utah Injury Law?
(How much compensation can I get?)
Under Utah's Noneconomic Damages Reform: Utah Code Ann. § 78-14-7.1. noneconomic damages in medical liability cases may not exceed $450,000 for injuries that occur after May 15, 2010 . There is no cap on economic damages. Compensation cap laws are periodically updated; talk to an injury lawyer for more information.
Get Help From a Utah Personal Injury Attorney Today
Complete the quick form and a Utah injury lawyer will contact you to discuss your case for FREE