Washington Personal Injury Laws
Washington personal injury laws vary from other state’s laws. Below are the most common personal injury laws in the state of Washington. Understanding your compensation rights and getting the help of a Washington attorney is your first step towards filing a successful Washington personal injury claim.
Washington Statute of Limitations
(How long do I have to file claims in Washington?)
The State of Washington's statute of limitations for filing personal injury claims is 3 years. Washington's medical malpractice statute of limitations is 3 years from the date of the injurious action or within 1 year from the date of reasonable discovery. No medical malpractice case can be filed more than 8 years from the date of the injurious action. Washington product liability claims must be filed within 3 years from the date of injury or from the date the injury could have been reasonably discovered. The statute of limitations for Washington claims are subject to change, contact a Washington injury attorney for definitive statutes at the time of your accident or injury.
Car Accidents in Washington
Washington = Fault State
Washington is a fault State. Under this system the insurance company will determine who is at fault and the guilty party’s insurance company will be responsible for paying damages, including medical expenses and lost wages. If compensation for your car accident claim is not sufficient to cover your losses you may be able to file a car accident lawsuit against the at fault driver.
Washington is a Pure Comparative State
Washington is one of 13 states which recognize the pure comparative fault rule. Under this system the damaged party may receive compensation for their injuries or losses even if they are 99% at fault. Compensation is, however, is reduced by each party’s degree of guilt.back to top
Are there Damage Caps in Washington Injury Law?
(How much compensation can I get?)
Under Washington’s state laws there are no limitations for noneconomic recovery. Speak to a Washington attorney for more information on personal injury compensation thresholds. Workers compensation benefits provide medical compensation for injured workers with no time or monetary limits. Temporary total disability (TTD) and permanent total disability (PTD) payments are determined by a percentage of the worker's wage, subject to weekly maximum and minimum payment amounts.
Contact a Washington Personal Injury Lawyer Today
Complete the short form and a Washington injury attorney will contact you to discuss your case for FREE